Black Velvet Smoking Jacket

From the Gentleman’s Emporium:

Welcome the night in our luxurious black velvet smoking jacket, with rich trim throughout.

While today the smoking jacket is an elegant alternative to a formal tuxedo, in the Victorian era this garment served a much more specific purpose in at-home entertainment. Scrupulously dressed 19th century gentlemen (who literally had a coat for every occasion) would don a soft, often velvet, loose jacket over their clothing as a protective barrier from the odors of their smoking indulgences. Plus, it would provide winter warmth when they were banned to the smoking porch by the ladies!

Our more contemporary interpretation of the perennially hip smoking jacket features a rich black velvet body with a deep shawl collar which wraps around luxuriously to the inner lining. The exterior is trimmed with two waist flap pockets and one breast pocket. Complementary front and cuff buttons complete the look.

Two interior breast pockets and one small ticket pocket offer ample storage for the day’s necessities.

Imported, 100% cotton body, fully lined with a satin-finish poly/viscose fabric. Professionally dry clean only.

Published in: on July 5, 2011 at 1:53 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://darkclass.wordpress.com/2011/07/05/black-velvet-smoking-jacket/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Awesome, thank you for a well written post! I love this Victorian Gentleman’s suit. Unfortunately for our era, we only see these at weddings or extremely especial occasions. I’m planning on wearing one as Phantom of the Opera for this Halloween! 😉

  2. OH MY GOODNESS, I would look awesome in this, even better out of it!
    I also know a LOT about fashion, which I learned as a child whilst under the employ of the very exclusive Westmoreland Mall.
    Additionally, I am a connoisseur of classy fashion which I discovered during my numerous “over the top” shopping sprees at Greengate Mall.
    Yes, indeed I have a passion for fashion!

  3. Hi, I do believe this is a great blog. I stumbledupon it 😉
    I may come back yet again since I saved as a favorite it.
    Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to help others.


Leave a comment